## AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

Presented at the 2016 Kelvin High School Graduation Ceremony.

Governor General's Medal and the Kelvin 75Th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship for the Recipient of the Governor General's Medal – honours outstanding scholastic achievement. The most prestigious award that students in Canadian schools can receive, the Collegiate Bronze Medal honours the top academic student. The Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Award is given to the recipient of the Governor General's Medal.

# JOHN MARI ESGUERRA

### KELVIN 75th ANNIVERSARY REUNION SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

In 1987, the Kelvin 75th Reunion Committee undertook to use the net proceeds from the Reunion held that year to create a Scholarship Fund, recognizing the achievements of graduating students in a broad range of categories.

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – 75th Reunion – is for outstanding academic achievement.

### SEAN O'SULLIVAN

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Athletic Awards – acknowledges skill and sportsmanship for students pursuing post secondary education.

#### HAILEY SHARPE MICHAEL RAAFLAUB-MIKOLAJCZYK

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Community Involvement Award – is for contribution to the community-at-large.

#### **RHIANNON SWAN**

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Dux Citizenship Award – acknowledges outstanding citizenship.

#### LAUREN MACRAE

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Dux Scholarship Awards – for outstanding academics.

AVALON KUNZIG MICHAELA YOUNG

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Greatest Improvement Award – is for a student who has demonstrated growth in the course of his or her academic career at Kelvin.

### JESSICA STEFANIK

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Performing Arts Award – recognizes leadership and accomplishment in this field.

### EMILY REKRUT-PRESSEY

DUX CITIZENSHIP MEDALS – are Kelvin's long-standing award for school community service.

NICOLE MACDONELL JUSTONY VASQUEZ KELVIN ATHLETIC MEDALS – are awarded to the outstanding male and female athletes in the graduating class.

HAILEY SHARPE MICHAEL RAAFLAUB-MIKOLAJCZYK

JIM CARR AWARD FOR MUSICAL EXCELLENCE – recognises the importance of cultural and creative talents; presented to a student who embodies a passion for musical arts, be it vocal, instrumental or musical theatre, while achieving and maintaining a high level of academic performance.

#### **EVAN FRIESEN**

CSS AWARD OF MERIT – recognizes a student who has shown resilience and determination in the face of adversity.

#### CHIANNE MCGILLIS

CHOWN CENTENNIAL SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a top honours student enrolling at the University of Manitoba.

#### NADINE PLOURDE

CITY COUNCILLOR AWARD – recognizes an individual who understands the importance of the larger community by making significant contributions to Winnipeg.

#### CHARANPREET KAUR

COMMITMENT TO EDUCATION AWARD - Sponsored by Coca Cola, this award recognizes individuals for whom learning is both a positive experience as well as a life affirming event, individuals who strive to continue in their educational pursuits in spite of facing personal obstacles and hurdles along the way. It is intended to celebrate students who are hardworking, industrious as well as passionate about learning.

ZOE GOLDSTONE-JOUBERT

COMMUNITY CITIZENSHIP AWARD – is given for demonstrating community leadership, high standards of integrity, and respect for others, and a willingness to speak to social issues.

### NATHAN WILSON

EMERGENT BIOSOLUTIONS SCHOLARSHIP - recognises a student who achieved high standing in the sciences, who demonstrates outstanding commitment to the local community, and who plans to pursue a post-secondary education in the field of life sciences.

### SAM NARVEY

EXCELLENCE IN FRENCH AWARD – is given to a student in the French Immersion Program who demonstrates excellence in both written and oral communication.

ANDRÉA RONDEAU-BROWN NICOLE MACDONELL FORT ROUGE MLA SCHOLARSHIP – is awarded to a student residing in the Fort Rouge Constituency who has made a notable contribution to the community.

### OWEN LEINWEBER

FRED G. GILBERT MEMORIAL BURSARY – established in memory of a former Kelvin teacher, is awarded for outstanding character, aptitude and academics.

#### MARIA NALLIM

GRANT HERMANSON ART AWARD – established in memory of a former Kelvin student, is presented for outstanding achievement in art.

#### WILLIAM GRANT

CAROLE ISAAC MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – established in honour of a former Kelvin student, is awarded to a female student with outstanding grades in mathematics, physics, and chemistry who intends to enter university.

#### KATE FRIESEN

KELVIN COFFEE HOUSE AWARD – is given to a student who has made significant contributions to the Coffee House events.

# CHARLOTTE FRIESEN KITTY KERR

KELVIN HIGH SCHOOL STAFF AWARD – is awarded to a deserving student at the discretion of the Kelvin High School Awards Committee.

## GABRIELLE WISHART

KELVIN JUBILEE AWARD – BURSARY – instituted in 1962 on the occasion of Kelvin's 50th Anniversary, is given to a university-bound student with high academic standing.

### TEMILOLUWA OLADEJI

KELVIN JUBILEE AWARD – SCHOLARSHIP – instituted in 1962 on the occasion of Kelvin's 50th Anniversary, is given to a university-bound student with high academic standing.

### SYDNEY EATON

KELVIN MUSICAL THEATRE AWARD - is given to a student who has made significant contributions to Kelvin High School's musical theatre productions.

### **EVAN FRIESEN**

KELVIN STUDENT COUNCIL AWARD – recognizes noteworthy involvement in school activities.

#### KATE FRIESEN

LIFETOUCH AWARD – is awarded for excellence in academics, citizenship and integrity.

# IRENA TONNU SERENA TONNU

SYLVIA MADDOCKS IMPROVISATION AWARD – presented annually to a graduating student who has been a member of the competitive improv team throughout his/her career at Kelvin. The recipient must demonstrate a high level of acting skill, evidence of growth, a positive attitude, and leadership skills that support the overall success of the team.

#### KITTY KERR

MOMENTUM FUNDRAISING/ SUBWAY SCHOLARSHIP - recognises excellence in track & field.

#### HAILEY SHARPE

SCHOOL BOARD BOOK AWARDS FOR SCHOLASTIC ACHIEVEMENT – are awarded by the Trustees of the Winnipeg School Division to honour high academic success.

ZINAN CENCAITLIN CHANALEXANDER CRAMERFELIPE GARCIAARTHUR HARRISPOE HELENE-HOUNSLOWKAELA KUNST-BENTZSCOTT MACDONELLDAE HO MANGMIKE MARTIN

ABIGAIL REIMER CINDY SU KAYLEIGH SWINN

SCHULICH LEADER NOMINEE – recognizes excellence in the pursuit of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics).

### KATE FRIESEN

ALLAN BRETT SERBIN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – established in memory of a former Kelvin student, awarded to a student with active extra-curricular involvement and who has registered at a post-secondary institution.

### HAILEY SHARPE

SOUCHAY GOSSEN FAMILY FOUNDATION AWARD – recognizes a student who demonstrates commitment to education and engagement to the school community and the community at large.

### MICHAEL RAAFLAUB-MIKOLAJCZYK

NORA TAYLOR MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a student having high academic standing, active involvement in the school and community, and who will attend a Canadian university.

#### QUINN DESROCHERS

THE WINNIPEG SCHOOL DIVISION POST SECONDARY SCHOLARSHIP – special recognition of a student who has persevered in the face of adversity and/or unusual challenges in order to achieve high academic standing and who will pursue post secondary education.

#### ERIC KEILBACK

WINNIPEG TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a student for outstanding citizenship and who will pursue post-secondary education.

CATHERINE MARCH